Easiest Egg Pattern Ever

It’s that time of the year. The ice shelves are breaking up and the ever-present cold wind gives way to the trickle of running water. Other than the occasional crocus peeking through the snow and the moans of allergy sufferers, increased fish activity give us an indication that winter will soon be over. It’s also spring spawn time, and egg patterns can be effective producers. Are you looking to tie the easiest egg pattern this side of the Mississippi (or maybe even both sides)? This pattern probably ranks in the top 10 as the easiest fly pattern to master. All you need are plastic beads, a few hooks, Loon UV Knot Sense, and a beer.

Step 1: Open a beer and round up some hooks. Umpqua U501 hooks in #6 or #8 work great. You can alternatively use just about any scud or nymph hook with a decent gap. A pair of pliers are always useful for tweaking the proper gap when necessary.

Step 2: Raid your kid’s art supplies to scrounge up a few plastic beads that might pass off as a fish egg. No kids? Go down to the closest hobby store and plunder their craft bins. In a flash you could mimic a salmon egg, rainbow or cutthroat egg sac, or even mountain whitefish roe.

Step 3: Here’s the most difficult part, place a nice glob of UV Knot Sense on the hook, slide it over the hook, and then shine the Loon UV light on the bead for a few seconds. Finally, drink your beer.

Yep, that’s pretty much it. What the hell did you think it was gonna be? You could be completely shit-faced drunk and still pull off a dozen of these killer flies in a half an hour. So, get ‘er done.

Tags: , ,

About seanhudson

Internet professional, runner, skier, climber, father, and doer of things.

4 responses to “Easiest Egg Pattern Ever”

  1. Gregg Martin says :

    Sean,

    I would think the knot sense holds the bead onto the hook after you slide the bead over it? I once came across an egg in my trout days that called for the exact bead slid over a heavy scud style hook from the top, thatis, after you pre heated the hook with a lighter, you pushed the bead on the hook from the top and it fused it on. I “tied” a whole bunch, didn’t become engaged to them, and gave them to my boys who always do well with whatever I give them. My youngest son was like 10 at the time and started catching one big trout after another on a WHITE plastic egg that looked like an eyeball of a fried trout. Very strange. I kow these sink guickly, far more than the egg I use now. Which could be a good thing. For carp, I can’t help but wonder how long they would hold onto these beads. Often I use my eggs to unseen fish, and they hook themselves at times. Would be an easy tie, like you said.

    Gregg

    • seanhudson says :

      The hard bead doesn’t exactly give the mouth feel of a real egg, and it could probably be easily rejected in slow or still water by a finicky fish. That said, I’ve never had any problems with picky fish when they are keying in on eggs.

      • Gregg Martin says :

        Sean, on carp? I could very easily see those colorful translucent eggs eagerly taken by salmonids in a run, but carp sighted or not? In other words you have used with success on carp? I use eggs much and if you have done well it would add something to my arsonal.

        Gregg

      • seanhudson says :

        I have not fished egg patterns much with carp, but I have with trout. I know these work well on trout. I might have to give it a try on a few carp.

Leave a Reply

